Visit our Blog for a behind the scenes look at NBP. Click here to skip navigation and go to main content

Make a Donation
Home Customize Site Login View Cart Site Map


 About Us
 All About Braille
 News & Media

Sign up for our eNewsletter

   Follow us on Facebook
   Look us up on Twitter
   Read our blog
   Watch and Listen on YouTube
   Pinterest link

Media inquiries:

Awards Received by National Braille Press

International Board on Books for Young People with Disabilities (IBBY), July 2014

USBBY Committee for Outstanding Books for Young People with Disabilities has chosen NBP's books, Stir it Up! Recipes and Techniques for Young Blind Cooks and Out of Sight Science Experiments for the International Board on Books for Young People with Disabilities 2015 Exhibition and annotated catalogue. The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to promote international understanding through children's books and to give children everywhere the opportunity to have access to books with high literary and artistic standards

All nominated books are kept in the permanent collection of the IBBY Documentation Centre in Toronto, Canada, which also provides information, consultation and documentation services for organizations, research workers, teachers, students, librarians, publishers, authors, illustrators, policy makers and the media who work with young people with special needs. The Centre has built up a large international collection of books catering to children and young people but also to adults with physical, perceptual, intellectual and language disabilities, as well as reading difficulties. The books are regularly shown at conferences, book fairs and exhibitions.

NBP thanks our generous supporters; especially Tom Sullivan and the Danny Hirce Family, sponsors of Stir it Up! Recipes and Techniques for Young Blind Cooks.

Humanitarian of the Year Award

National Braille Press President Brian Mac Donald received Consumer Vision Magazine's Humanitarian of the Year Award in 2009. This award is given for compassion and a strong desire to help others.

Dr. Jacob Bolotin Award

In 2009, Diane Croft, National Braille Press's Vice President of Publishing, received the National Federation for the Blind's Dr. Jacob Bolotin Award for her work in publishing braille books on topics of special relevance to blind readers. This award is presented to individuals and organizations working in the field of blindness that have made outstanding contributions toward achieving the full integration of the blind into society.

Golden Keys Award

In 1997, the National Association to Promote the Use of Braille (NAPUB), a division of the National Federation for the Blind, presented its most prestigious Golden Keys Award to National Braille Press. At the time, NBP was only the 3rd recipient of this award in the NAPUB's 13 year history.

Employer of the Year

The National Federation of the Blind of Massachusetts awarded National Braille Press the Employer of the Year Award in 1992 "in recognition of [our] commitment in providing employment opportunities to blind persons as all career level."

Literary Market Place Award

In 1991, National Braille Press received an award from Literary Market Place (LMP). The LMP Awards are awarded annually to publishers who have demonstrated "excellence and innovation" in the publishing arena and NBP was the first braille publishing house to receive this prestigious award.

Migel Medal

In 1948, Francis B. Ierardi received the prestigious Migel Medal from the American Foundation for the Blind (AFB). According to AFB, this is "the highest honor in the blindness field," to honor professionals and volunteers whose dedication and achievements have improved the lives of people who are blind or visually impaired.

Awards Given by National Braille Press

President's Award

The President's Award is given exclusively by NBP's President in order to recognize remarkable individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of braille literacy through their partnership with NBP.

Past recipients:

Hands On! Award

The Hands On! Award is given to an individual who has made a difference in the world of braille literacy and whose accomplishments have helped blind children and adults succeed in their own life. This award is given annually at the NBP gala.

Past recipients include:

Touch of Genius Prize for Innovation

This award was developed to inspire an innovator to continue the promotion of braille literacy for blind and deafblind people worldwide. The prize is granted for a new educational method, a new tactile literacy product, or a new technological advance in tactile literacy through the support of the Gibney Family Foundation.
View past recipients.

Marco Polo Award

The Marco Polo Award was created to recognize the international efforts of individuals promoting braille literacy. Like the great explorer, recipients offer the guidance, inspiration, and knowledge necessary to build international 'bridges' that will help change literacy for blind people worldwide.

Volunteer Award

This award recognizes exceptional individual and corporate volunteers for their dedication to volunteerism for NBP as well as their philanthropic commitment to braille books for blind children and access to information for blind people.
View past recipients.

Download a Braille Alphabet Card

Learn about the Center for Braille Innovation

Sign up here for email updates on new publications!!